My character will be the end of me!

I remember the days of high school literature lessons. I hated them! I loved the English grammar cause its just kinda came to me. But Literature?! God save the Queen and her English but not that! I remember the way we used to dissect each character in the set books. Little did I know that this exercise would actually be necessary in real life-when the situations life is throwing my way require me to figure out my own personality and character traits as well as those of the people around me. Now the high school character dissemination was a tad shallow, we’d use one sentence and glean much more than we could from one hour hanging with each of our friends….. From a whole life time of hanging with me I still know the absolutely basic facts about myself.

So what’s a girl to do when she realizes she needs to learn herself and do it quick? Find a template 🙂 So I searched Wikipedia one day sometime last month but one in a bid to find out what temperament I am. Why not go to the set definitions and figure out where I fall. So apparently I was told this…

There are four classical temperaments although modern advancements have a myriad of theories with all number of categories but i’ll keep it simple and stick to the classical:

Sanguine

Extroverted, enjoys social gatherings, making new friends and can be quite loud. Usually quite creative and often daydream.

However some alone time is crucial for them. They could be very sensitive, compassionate and thoughtful.

They generally struggle with following tasks all the way through, are chronically late, and tend to be forgetful and sometimes a little sarcastic. When pursuing a new hobby, interest is often lost quickly when it ceases to be engaging or fun. They are people persons, talkative and not shy and get emotional sometimes.

Choleric

They are do-ers. Have a lot of ambition, energy, and passion, and try to instill it in others. They can dominate people of other temperaments, especially phlegmatic types. Many great charismatic military and political figures were cholerics. They like to be leaders and in charge of everything.

Melancholic

A thoughtful ponderer. Very considerate and get rather worried when they could not be on time for events. Can be highly creative in activities such as poetry and art – and can become occupied with the tragedy and cruelty in the world.

Also often perfectionists, self-reliant and independent. They sometimes get so involved in what they are doing though that they forget to think of others.

Phlegmatic

Are self-content and kind, very accepting and affectionate. May be shy and often prefer stability to uncertainty and change. They are very consistent, relaxed, calm, rational, curious, and observant, making them good administrators. However they can also be very passive-aggressive.

So I think I fall in the San-Phleg category.  Now part of this is true and as I was reading where I fall those “ahah” moments came a dime a dozen. My follow through on projects i’m working on SUCKS! So it shed just a bit of light on the whole situation and for that I was glad.

So now I can conclusively say that my temperament will be the end of me!!

I’m outgoing, find it pretty easy to talk to people I don’t know. Actually I think people I don’t know are the most interesting people to talk to. One can do soo much more with a blank canvas than one that’s already painted. The blank canvas is our perception of the other person, the paint is the conversation we’ll have. If I already have a certain perception of you I won’t tell you some stuff and neither will you. But why?? Speak I tell you! (but that’s me digressing so…..)

Now that I find it pretty easy to talk to people, it’s expected that 50% of these people are of the male species. So since over the weekend it was observed that I get along pretty well with them a comment was thrown my way… that I’m a flirt.

Really?? It’s not like I haven’t thought that about myself… at times. But when SOMEONE ELSE tells you your one to your face the truth strikes home and then you have to accept that the situation is critical. Critical! Snap! Do I want to accept it and do something about it?? All those things that our friends and family (yes, including our parents)tell us we that we chose to ignore, what semblance of truth do they have and are we not accepting them cause we are in denial??

Well I guess I can stop speaking to guys in general-more guys more problems 😦 But really?! I’m a tomboy, sheesh, how’s that supposed to happen.

Dilemma,… but something definitely has to change. You know the addage of cut off what’s causing you to sin?…Should we call it character suicide?? Hehehe, well, maybe not in the essence of the word.

I got a more conclusive temperament sorter at this site http://www.keirsey.com/ related to how we are in the work place, relationships and even the classroom.  Do take it, I hope it sheds some light,… it shed a whole spotlight for me :).

